The only Appt. I will be making

Hey Overdorsers its been some time since my last post. That’s only because I’ve been busy networking. Graduation is in a few months and that means I now need to enter my field[YIKES]. So I heard about this new streetwear store that recently opened in Wynwood called Appt. Only, of Course you guys know I had to check it out myself. I wanted to intern for a day just to see if the atmosphere was comfortable and be sure that this was where I wanted to be[secretly this was me interviewing them.I mean they interview us so why can’t we interview them you know lol] Fast forward to last week I finally reached out to a mutual friend who is employed there and asked if it would be possible for me to volunteer for a day. Now you guys know I hate retail so I was not trying to be no sales associate but Merchandising and social media was definitely something that I wanted to do. I spoke to the GM on the phone and our conversation went a little like this

Hi my name is Sheana Dagrin, I am a graduating student majoring in Fashion Merchandising & Marketing at Johnson & Wales University. Im very much interested in becoming a part of your team and wanted to know if I would be able to volunteer my time to get a better feel of your brand and show case my merchandising skills.

She felt it would be a great Idea and asked for me to send her a copy of my resume. So I did just that and attached a short introduction email with it.

Hi my name is Sheana Dagrin, I am a graduating student majoring in Fashion Merchandising & Marketing at Johnson & Wales University. Im very much interested in becoming a part of your team and wanted to know if I would be able to volunteer my time to get a better feel of your brand and show case my merchandising skills. Although Merchandising is my passion I’m much more than just a Visual Merchandiser—I’m a marketer, an entrepreneur, a blogger, an influencer, a designer and an interior design geek. I look forward to hearing from you.

Days passed and I didn’t hear anything from her, so me being all self conscious I’m like damn maybe my resume wasnt good enough. So I left it alone and then my boyfriend told me to follow up. Boy did I forget how much a follow up letter or email means. Well she ended up giving me the green light and I was able to merchandise some of their apparel, help work on their website and social media. They seemed very pleased with the content of my work so hopefully that means I am in. They invited me to help out at a photoshoot for a Magazine but can’t show you these pics or tell you which magazine just yet =p(Look out for my next post). Anyways here is a few images I took so you guys can see the way I merchandised the inside of the showroom.

Leave a Reply

